Original music written for custom projects

"Two Reasons" review from Livewire

"Two Reasons" review from Livewire

The Good Minus (album)

The Good Minus

The Good Minus will launch their debut album at The Wesley Anne, Northcote on October the 11th 2019 with Anna Cordell supporting.

Official album release date: 27/09/19. Pre-order the album now.

The Good Minus are an all-singing, instrument-swapping power trio. Their songs feature intricate three-part vocal harmonies with a style described as Grizzly Bear reimagining the songs of Elbow.

Matt Welch, David Kean and Stu Hazelman blend wildly different influences to create multi-layered arrangements, with obscure yet groove-laden time signatures.

Their debut album was recorded at Tender Trap Studios in Melbourne and engineered by David Kean. David also mixed many of the album’s tracks. The band had the honour of Greg J Walker (Machine Translations) mixing I’ll Decide For You and Rohan Sforcina (Head Gap Studios) mixing Blood Brothers, Shadow Love and Catch Us Up. Their record was mastered by Alan Douches of West West Side Studios (NY).

"Rich with vocal harmonies and multi-layered arrangements, the release breathes new life into angular prog pop."

"(The Good Minus) have succeeded in creating a perfect indie song.”
- We Love That Sound

“A gorgeous piece with faultless production and a great sonic mix of musicians… a stunning piece of work.” - Ultraviolet

"Lush harmonies…. Johnny Greenwood/Radiohead-esque lead guitar parts.”
- Divide and Conquer Music 
Read more… close
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

"Blue Jay" and "Feel So Blue" written for the short film "Blue-Blooded"